In how many ways can the word Josephite be arranged if the first letter is a vowel?

tawhid

Hey,I'm pretty new to combinatronics, forgive me for my naive question.

In how many ways can the word Josephite be arranged if the first letter is a vowel?

I'm kinda confused, if there repetitions aren't counted then,there are 3 unique vowels and 8 remaining letters so arrangements shall be 3*8! Right?

Hey,I'm pretty new to combinatorics, forgive me for my naive question. I'm kinda confused, if there repetitions aren't counted then,there are 3 unique vowels and 8 remaining letters so arrangements shall be 3*8! Right?
Is that your final answer, or just a first step?

It seems to me that there would be two cases.
  • How many ways are there to arrange the word if the first letter is O or I?
  • How many ways are there to arrange the word if the first letter is E?
By the way, there are not three unique vowels; there are three distinct vowels. One of them is not unique! At least, that's how I use the words, which are easily confused.

Thanks for the clarification haha. Distinct seems like the best in this case. Yes it is my final answer. As it seems like it satisfies both cases.

Thanks for the clarification haha. Distinct seems like the best in this case. Yes it is my final answer. As it seems like it satisfies both cases.
I thought I strongly hinted that you should think again. Did you?

When I'm not sure of my answer to a problem like this, I sometimes try a smaller version of the problem that I can check by actually counting. I suggest you try this with the word OGEE. How many arrangements do you calculate that start with a vowel? After you do that, then try actually listing them (it's a pretty short list). Compare, and see if your thinking worked. Then think again.

And then show us your example and your new work, because there will be more to discuss.